HR Study 2010

> The Effect of the Global Economic Recession on Canada's Creative Economy in 2009

Purchase all three documents that make up HR Study 2010 in a printable electronic format

The HR Study 2010 package contains: HR Trends and Issues, Labour Market Information for Canada's Cultural Sector and The Effect of the Global Economic Recession on Canada's Creative Economy in 2009.

Highlights

The global recession is having a profoundly negative impact on most sectors of the Canadian economy this year. The Canadian economy entered into a recession in the fourth quarter of 2008, and is expected to continue contracting through much of 2009 before turning around later in the year.

Canada's culture sector is not immune to the effects of the global recession. Indeed, the analysis presented in this report shows that the culture sector of Canada's economy will be hit harder by the global recession than the overall Canadian economy. Real value-added output, or gross domestic product (GDP), for the Canadian economy is expected to be 4 per cent lower in 2009 than it would have been in the absence of the global recession. In comparison, real value-added output in Canada's culture sector is expected to be 4.8 per cent lower in 2009 than it would have been had there not been a recession.

Our estimates suggest the global recession is likely to reduce real direct value-added output of Canada's culture sector by about $2.2 billion in 2009. Other key findings from the Conference Board's analysis of the impact of the global recession on Canada's culture sector can be summarized as follows:

  • Revenues for Canada's culture sector are expected to be 4.3 per cent–or about $3.1 billion–lower in 2009 than they would have been in the absence of a global recession.

  • The reduction in culture sector employment is expected to be smaller than the reduction in employment for the overall Canadian economy, despite the severe effects of the economic downturn.

  • Our estimates suggest the global recession will reduce average employment earnings paid to workers in the culture sector by 2.2 per cent in 2009. This figure does not include the potential erosion of employment earnings experienced by those who are newly self-employed in the culture sector, having lost their jobs in other sectors as a result of the economic downturn.

Étude sur les RH 2010

> Impact de la récession mondiale sur l'économie créative du Canada en 2009

Achetez les trois documents qui composent l'Étude sur les RH2010 dans un format électronique imprimable

La trousse de l'Étude sur les RH2010 inclut : Tendances et enjeux de ressources humaines, Information sur le marché du travail du secteur culturel canadien et Impact de la récession mondiale sur l'économie créative du Canada en 2009.

Points saillants

La récession mondiale a un impact très négatif sur la majorité des secteurs de l'économie canadienne cette année. Celle-ci est entrée en récession au quatrième trimestre 2008, et elle devrait continuer à se contracter pendant presque toute l'année 2009 avant d'amorcer une reprise vers la fin de l'année.

Le secteur culturel canadien n'est pas à l'abri des effets de la récession mondiale. En réalité, l'analyse contenue dans le présent rapport montre que le secteur culturel de l'économie canadienne sera davantage touché par la récession mondiale que l'économie canadienne dans son ensemble. La production à valeur ajoutée réelle, ou le produit intérieur brut (PIB), pour l'économie canadienne devrait être inférieure de 4 pour cent en 20091 à ce qu'elle aurait été s'il n'y avait pas eu de récession mondiale. En comparaison, la production à valeur ajoutée réelle dans le secteur culturel canadien devrait être inférieure de 4,8 pour cent en 2009 à ce qu'elle aurait été en l'absence d'une récession.

Selon nos estimations, la récession mondiale réduira probablement la production à valeur ajoutée réelle dans le secteur culturel canadien d'environ 2,2 milliards de dollars en 2009. L'analyse du Conference Board a fourni d'autres résultats importants relatifs à l'incidence de la récession mondiale sur le secteur culturel canadien et qui peuvent être résumés comme suit :

  • Les revenus du secteur culturel canadien devraient être de 4,3 pour cent inférieurs – ou environ 3,1 milliards de dollars – en 2009 à ce qu'ils auraient été en l'absence d'une récession mondiale.

  • La baisse d'emploi dans le secteur culturel devrait être moins importante que dans l'économie canadienne dans son ensemble, malgré les effets dévastateurs du ralentissement économique.

  • Selon nos estimations, la récession mondiale entraînera une réduction des revenus moyens d'emploi versés aux travailleurs dans le secteur de la culture de 2,2 pour cent en 2009. Ce chiffre ne comprend pas l'érosion possible des salaires qui seront versés aux nouveaux travailleurs du secteur culturel ayant perdu leur emploi dans d'autres secteurs à la suite du ralentissement économique.