High School


Resources to help students explore a career in arts and culture.

The Art of Managing Your Career

Your students need to know the realities of self-employment – its benefits and challenges – if they want to earn a living from their art. The Art of Managing Your Career and Discipline Enhancements (in writing, theatre, music, dance, film, visual arts, crafts, and digital media) with a high school Teacher's Guide will help you introduce them to the business skills they will need as self-employed artists. Also available is Artist as Entrepreneur, a Grade 11 college preparation course material created by teachers for teachers.


Careers in Culture

Introduce your students to the lingo, networks, job opportunities, education paths, and career potential in the different cultural sub-sectors. Use the teacher's guide Lights Up! and the 8 mini sites and 6 corresponding booklets (in visual arts and crafts, live performing arts, film and television, music and sound recording, writing and publishing, and heritage) to engage them in considering a career in culture.


Towards a Career in Digital Media

A successful career in Digital Media inevitably means being part of a creative team. Towards a Career in Digital Media prepares students for that reality. This 12-lesson mini-course, intended to be integrated into existing curriculum, is for grade 12 students in visual arts, language arts and computer science who are contemplating a career in the Digital Media industry. Through the specific learning objectives of each lesson, students come together as a simulated Digital Media team: they gain understanding of their vital individual roles in creating a DM product, and are exposed to the full range of skills needed by all players on the team.

École secondaire

 

Des outils pour aider les étudiants à poursuivre une carrière dans le milieu des arts et de la culture.


L'Art de gérer sa carrière

Vos étudiants doivent confronter les réalités du monde du travail autonome – ses avantages et ses défis – pour pouvoir vivre de leur art. L'Art de gérer sa carrière et les ajouts par discipline (arts visuels, cinéma, danse, écriture, médias numériques, métiers d'art, musique et théâtre) ainsi que le guide de l'enseignant au niveau secondaire vous aideront à les initier aux compétences en affaires dont ils auront besoin en tant qu'artistes travailleurs autonomes. Artist as Entrepreneur est aussi disponible; ce contenu de cours pour la 11ième année a été créé par des enseignants pour les enseignants.

RENSEIGNEZ VOUS >>


Les métiers de la culture

Expliquez à vos éludiants le jargon, les réseaux, les possibilités d'emploi, les sentiers pour l'éducation, et le potentiel de carrière dans les différents disciplines du secteur culturel. Utilisez En tête !, le Guide pour l'enseignant, les 8 mini-sites et les 6 livrets correspondants (en arts visuels et métiers d'art, arts de la scène, cinéma et la télévision, musique et l'enregistrement sonore, écriture et édition, et patrimoine) pour les inciter à envisager une carrière dans le milieu culturel.

RENSEIGNEZ VOUS >>


Vers une carrière en médias numériques : Un guide pour les enseignants du secondaire

Dans les médias numériques, une carrière réussie signifie inévitablement faire partie d'une équipe de création. Ce mini-cours de 12 leçons, destiné à être intégré dans les programmes scolaires existants, a été créé pour les étudiants de 12ième année en arts visuels, en arts du langage et en informatique qui envisagent une carrière dans l'industrie des médias numériques. En respectant les objectifs spécifiques d'apprentissage de chaque leçon, les étudiants formeront une équipe de simulation. Ils comprendront leurs rôles individuels dans la création d'un projet de médias numériques et seront exposés à la gamme de compétences nécessaires à tous les membres de l'équipe.

RENSEIGNEZ VOUS >>