Educators and Trainers

 

Course and workshop resources developed by industry to help you prepare the emerging workforce.


CAREER SELF-MANAGEMENT
The Art of Managing Your Career

(For universities, colleges, professional associations, guilds, unions, artist-run centres and networks)

The Art of Managing Your Career, a guide for emerging self-employed artists with discipline-specific enhancements, has accompanying teaching resources which include a Teacher's Guide for high school level; Artist as Entrepreneur, a Grade 11 college preparation course; and Course Modules, designed for teachers at the college and university level, a Workshop for Aboriginal Artists; and Workshops for Nunavut Artists.

Much of the course work I teach involves career guidance and exploration. I am interested in getting the teaching resource for the Course Modules of The Art of Managing Your Career. I want to make sure my students are prepared for any career path they choose; this seems like it would be a great addition to my course materials. – Ellyse Schultz, High School Teacher, Saskatchewan

Careers in Culture

Exploring careers in the cultural sector– a reality check

Careers in Culture web pages explore careers in the cultural sector - a reality check that leads you and your students through what they need to know and what they need to do for a career in arts and culture. Lights up! is the accompanying teaching resource.

These rich and thoughtful resources are designed to show the many and diverse possibilities for a career in the arts and culture. At the same time they provide a reality check about work as a Canadian artist or cultural worker which is both demanding and highly rewarding. – Susan Annis, CHRC Executive Director

FIND OUT MORE / BUY >>


SKILLS ASSESSMENT
Competency Charts and Profiles

Competency Charts and Profiles can be useful in providing a broad and comprehensive view of the skills needed to be successful in a particular job in the cultural sector. The trainer/educator can use the Competency Charts and Profiles for assessment purposes, and to identify the competencies/skills which may be lacking in an individual that could be included in a training/career development programme.

See Linking Competencies to Curriculum and Course Content: A guide for educators and trainers - designed to help educators and trainers to develop courses and curricula from the charts and profiles.

I have requested 40 copies of the "Chart of Competencies for Magazine Publishing." This will help initiate the process and guide the students through the application of the appropriate terminology. – Glenn Ruhl, Mount Royal University, Calgary

TRAINING GAPS

Training Gaps Analyses provide valuable information for educators on training needs assessments and recommendations for filling training gaps identified by employers and workers in the sector.

Find a Training Gaps Analysis in your discipline


 

COURSE CONTENT

Course content addresses specific industry needs - identified, written and validated by industry experts.

Employeurs

 

Pour vous aider à préparer la main-d'œuvre émergente, voici des ressources développées par l'industrie.


Autogestion de carrière – L'Art de gérer sa carrière

(Dans les universités, les collèges, les associations professionnelles, les guildes, les syndicats, les réseaux d'artistes autogérés, etc…)

L'Art de gérer sa carrière (un guide d'autogestion de carrière pour les artistes et travailleurs autonomes, rehaussé par des ajouts spécifiques aux différentes disciplines) est accompagné de ressources pédagogiques y compris un guide pour le niveau secondaire (11ième année) intitulé Artist as Entrepreneur et des cours en ligne conçus pour les enseignants au niveau collégial et universitaire, L’Atelier pour les artistes autochtones et les Ateliers pour les artistes du Nunavut.

« Une grande partie des travaux de cours que j'enseigne implique l'orientation professionnelle et l'exploration. Je suis intéressée à obtenir la ressource pédagogique pour les cours de L'Art de gérer sa carrière. Je veux m'assurer que mes étudiants soient prêts pour la carrière qu'ils choisissent. Il me semble que ceci serait un excellent ajout à mon matériel de cours »  – Ellyse Schultz, professeur au niveau secondaire, Saskatchewan

Les métiers de la culture

Explorer des carrières dans le secteur culturel tout en confrontant la réalité.

Les pages Web de Les métiers de la culture servent à explorer les métiers du secteur culturel – cette confrontation avec la réalité vous expliquera ce que vos étudiants ont besoin de savoir et ce qu'ils ont besoin de faire pour réussir dans un métier du le milieu culturel. La ressource pédagogique qui l'accompagne s'intitule En tête!

« Ces ressources riches et bien pensées ont été conçues pour démontrer les nombreuses et diverses possibilités de carrière dans le milieu des arts et de la culture. Elles aident à confronter la réalité du monde du travail en tant qu'artiste ou travailleur culturel au Canada – un rôle à la fois exigeant et enrichissant. »
– Susan Annis, directrice générale, CRHSC

RENSEIGNEZ VOUS DAVANTAGE/FAITES VOS ACHATS >>


Évaluation des compétences – Les chartes et profils de compétences

Les chartes et les profils de compétences peuvent être utilisés pour fournir une vue d'ensemble des compétences nécessaires pour accomplir un travail particulier dans le secteur culturel. L'enseignant/le formateur peut s'en server pour fins d'évaluation et pour identifier les compétences/aptitudes qui devraient faire partie d'un programme de formation ou de développement professionnel.

Utiliser une analyse de compétences pour développer une offre de formation: Un guide à l'intention des enseignants et des formateurs - conçu pour aider les enseignants et les formateurs à élaborer des cours et des programmes à partir des chartes et des profils de compétences.

« J'ai commandé 40 exemplaires de la Charte de compétences pour l'Édition de magazines. Ceci m'aidera à lancer le processus et à encourager les étudiants à se familiariser avec la terminologie utilisée dans le métier. . »
– Glen Ruhl, Mount Royal University, Calgary

Analyse des lacunes dans la formation

L'analyse des lacunes dans la formation fournit de précieuses informations aux enseignants et aux formateurs au sujet des évaluations et des recommandations des besoins de formation identifiés par les employeurs et les travailleurs du secteur culturel.

Explorer les lacunes dans la formation qui se rapporte à votre discipline.


 

Contenu de cours

Contenu de cours répond aux besoins spécifiques de l'industrie, besoins qui ont été identifiés, écrits et validés par des experts.