Course Resources

CHRC has developed several course content documents for a variety of sub-sectors including visual arts and crafts, live performing arts, film and television, music and sound recording, writing and publishing, digital media, and heritage.

The creation of these course content documents was overseen by industry experts to ensure that they address the most up-to-date skills and knowledge needed by industry. They are for educators and trainers to adopt or adapt to their curricula or to use as stand-alone courses. Those interested in receiving any of the course content are asked to contact courses@culturalhrc.ca.

Cross-sectoral

Artist as Entrepreneur
2010
Artist as Entrepreneur focuses on ways in which entrepreneurs recognize opportunities, generate ideas, and organize resources to plan successful ventures that enable them to achieve their goals. The document, created for high school students, is divided into 4 strands: Enterprising People and Entrepreneurs, Ideas & Opportunities for New Ventures, Benefits of a Venture Plan, and Completing a Venture Plan. The course resource includes several activities for students to really engage with as well as real life success stories.

The Art of Managing Your Career – Post-Secondary Teacher's Guide
2009
The Post-Secondary Teacher's Guide, developed for teachers at the college and university level and for use by professional associations, are designed for artists from all disciplines. It includes 16 modules and numerous handouts to give working artists the confidence and knowledge to successfully manage their career or business in the cultural sector.

The Art of Export Marketing
The purpose of this web site is to provide information to assist artists in understanding and managing issues related to Export Marketing of Cultural Products and Services. First created in 2002, the material has been updated in 2009 to better reflect the current global cultural environment.

Digital Media

Towards a Career in Digital Media: High School Teacher's Guide
2014
This 12-lesson mini-course, intended to be integrated into existing curriculum, is for grade 12 students in visual arts, language arts and computer science who are contemplating a career in the Digital Media industry. Through the specific learning objectives of each lesson, they come together as a simulated Digital Media team: they gain understanding of their vital individual roles in creating a DM product, and are exposed to the full range of skills needed by the other players on the team.

Project Management 101 for the Digital Media Industry
2012
The Agile project management approach is a well suited solution to the serious project management skills gaps in the DM industry. Learn why and how to implement it in your team with this training offering.

Production Accounting 101
2012
Production Accounting 101 is a resource package for purchase by trainers who want to offer workshops or in depth courses on production accounting in the film and television industry. These resources can be directed to accountants wanting to get into the film and television industry; and to those already in the industry who want to get to the heart of it through accounting.

Convergence Media
2008
Its unique training template brings together the linear and non-linear story telling of film and television, and new media, and provides guidance in developing convergence projects with an emphasis on actual hands on project development through teamwork. The 18 sessions include instruction in writing business models, considering funding approaches, and setting timelines. It is designed for use by professional associations and educators/ trainers to facilitate and encourage training in convergence projects across the country to allow our cultural industries to take full advantage of multiplatform delivery.

Film and Television

Production Accounting 101
2012
Production Accounting 101 is a resource package for purchase by trainers who want to offer workshops or in depth courses on production accounting in the film and television industry. These resources can be directed to accountants wanting to get into the film and television industry; and to those already in the industry who want to get to the heart of it through accounting.

Business Skills for Producers
2009
This course content is a three day workshop designed for business owners and operators in film and television who are seeking business and management training. This workshop provides an understanding of the basic business skills needed to grow a company, and expand through strategies to capitalize on cross platform opportunities. It includes sessions on marketing, financing, distribution, negotiation and much more.

Film Set Etiquette
2009
Working on a film set requires more than just technical skills. It requires patience, adaptability, perseverance, creativity and teamwork. Understanding set etiquette can help you feel confident and provide you with the knowledge you need to work on a set. By understanding your surroundings you'll be able to concentrate on the task at hand; making a film. This document provides a general overview of set etiquette across Canada.

Set Safety Awareness
2009
This course content highlights common safety hazards of working in the film industry as well as your rights and obligations as an employee, someone in a supervisory role, and as an employer. It gives those with a vested interest in film and television production, an introduction to Set Safety and Occupational Health and Safety for your province.

Convergence Media
2008
Its unique training template brings together the linear and non-linear story telling of film and television, and new media, and provides guidance in developing convergence projects with an emphasis on actual hands on project development through teamwork. The 18 sessions include instruction in writing business models, considering funding approaches, and setting timelines. It is designed for use by professional associations and educators/ trainers to facilitate and encourage training in convergence projects across the country to allow our cultural industries to take full advantage of multiplatform delivery.

Music and Sound Recording

Rights Management 101
2012
These training resources are for trainers who want to offer workshops or in depth courses on rights management in the music industry; and for individuals who want to improve their understanding of the complexities of rights management for their personal benefit. Rights management knowledge is vital to anyone working in the music industry today.

Welcome to the Future: A Guide to Marketing Music in the New Economy
2009
In an industry undergoing extraordinarily rapid change as a result of evolving technology and the forces of globalization, knowing how to navigate new ways and means of reaching audiences is one of the biggest challenges. Learning how to take advantage of the potential opportunities of new technology to market around the world is the key to success.

This course document provides information, tips and sound advice in a series of tantalizing units, including Marketing; Marketing Basics; Knowing Your Customer (All you need is love); The Marketing Plan; Nuts and Bolts, Tried and Mostly True; It's Not Your Father's Oldsmobile; Been There, Still Doing It (and T-shirts too!); New Kids on the Block; and Catching up with the Rest of the World.

Visual Arts and Crafts

The Art of Managing Your Career – Course Modules
2009
The Course Modules, developed for teachers at the college and university level and for use by professional associations, are designed for artists from all disciplines. It includes 16 modules and numerous handouts to give working artists the confidence and knowledge to successfully manage their career or business in the cultural sector.

The Art of Export Marketing
The purpose of this web site is to provide information to assist artists in understanding and managing issues related to Export Marketing of Cultural Products and Services. First created in 2002, the material has been updated in 2009 to better reflect the current global cultural environment.

Writing and Publishing

Magazine Publishing Resources (2012)
Want to get your magazine online, but have no idea where to start? Take advantage of a new series of resources developed by experts in the field. Our resources offer valuable wisdom on digitization in the magazine publishing industry in the editorial, advertising, production and circulation – all focused on launching a successful online presence for your magazine.

Book Marketing in an Online World
2008
This course content has been created to train publishing staff, at all levels, on the ins and outs of online marketing. Comprised of six modules written by different contributors all involved in book publishing, its chapters include: Developing a Strategic Online Book Marketing Plan; Knowing Your Market; Dynamic Websites; Understanding Social Networks and Other Web 2.0 Applications; Building and Sustaining an Online Audience; and, Rights Management.

Ressources de cours

Le CRHSC a développé plusieurs contenus de cours pour divers sous-secteurs incluant les arts visuels et les métiers d'art, les arts de la scène, le cinéma et la télévision, la musique et l'enregistrement sonore, la création littéraire et l'édition, les médias numériques et le patrimoine.

La création de ces contenus de cours fut supervisée par des experts du secteur culturel pour s'assurer qu'ils répondent aux compétences les plus à jour et les connaissances nécessaires par le secteur. Ceux-ci furent créé pour les éducateurs et les formateurs à adopter ou adapter à leurs programmes ou à utiliser comme cours autonomes. Veuillez communiquer avec cours@crhsculturel.ca afin d'obtenir votre exemplaire.

Multidisciplinaire

The Art of Managing Your Career – Post-Secondary Teacher's Guide
2009
Le Post-Secondary Teacher's Guide, disponibles en anglais seulement, ont été développé pour les enseignantes et les enseignants aux niveaux collégiale et universitaire et pour les associations professionnelles. Ce document, conçu pour les artistes dans toutes les disciplines, inclut 16 modules donnant aux artistes la confiance et les connaissances nécessaires pour gérer leur carrière dans le secteur culturel.

L'Art du marketing à l'exportation
L'objectif de ce site Web est de fournir des renseignements aux artistes pour leur aider à comprendre et à gérer des questions liées au marketing à l'exportation de biens et de services culturels. Initialement crée en 2002, le matériel fut mis à jour en 2009 afin de mieux refléter l'environnement culturel international.

Médias numeriques

Vers une carrière en médias numériques : Un guide pour les enseignants du secondaire
2014
Ce mini-cours en 12 leçons, destiné à être intégré dans les programmes d'études qui sont en place, est conçu pour les élèves du secondaire (12ième année) en arts visuels, en rédaction et en langues, et en informatique qui envisagent une carrière dans l'industrie des médias numériques.

Gestion de projet 101 en médias numériques
2012
La méthode Agile de gestion de projets est une solution adéquate aux importantes lacunes qui existent en matière de compétences en gestion de projets dans l'industrie des médias numériques. Apprenez pourquoi et comment implémenter cette méthode au sein de votre équipe grâce à cette offre de formation.

Comptabilité de production 101
2012
Comptabilité de production 101 est une trousse de ressources à l'intention des enseignants/formateurs qui désirent animer des ateliers ou des cours approfondis en comptabilité de production dans l'industrie du film et de la télévision. Ces ressources peuvent être adressées à des comptables qui désirent se lancer dans l'industrie du film et de la télévision et à ceux déjà présents dans l'industrie qui désirent entrer dans le vif de celle-ci en développant leurs compétences en comptabilité.

Convergence des médias
2008
Son modèle de formation unique rassemble les discours linéaires et non linéaires du cinéma et de la télévision, ainsi que des nouveaux médias, et oriente l'élaboration de projets de convergence en préconisant les travaux pratiques réalisés en équipe. Les 18 séances du cours proposent des notions d'élaboration d'un modèle d'affaires, d'exploration des diverses approches de financement, et d'établissement d'un échéancier. Ce document est créé pour les associations professionnelles, les éducateurs et les formateurs pour qu'ils puissent faciliter et encourager la formation sur les projets de convergence partout au Canada.

Cinéma et radiotélédiffusion

Comptabilité de production 101
2012
Comptabilité de production 101 est une trousse de ressources à l'intention des enseignants/formateurs qui désirent animer des ateliers ou des cours approfondis en comptabilité de production dans l'industrie du film et de la télévision. Ces ressources peuvent être adressées à des comptables qui désirent se lancer dans l'industrie du film et de la télévision et à ceux déjà présents dans l'industrie qui désirent entrer dans le vif de celle-ci en développant leurs compétences en comptabilité.

Les compétences en affaires pour les productrices et producteurs
2009
Ce contenu de cours est un atelier de trois jours conçu pour les propriétaires et les gestionnaires d'entreprises dans l'industrie du cinéma et de la télévision qui ont besoin de formation en administration des affaires et en gestion. Cet atelier vous permettra de mieux comprendre quelles sont les compétences de base en affaires dont vous avez besoin pour faire avancer votre entreprise et vous donnera les stratégies nécessaires pour profiter des occasions dans différentes branches de l'audiovisuel. L'atelier comprend divers volets portant sur le marketing, le financement, la distribution, la négociation et plus encore.

Protocole de plateau
2009
Travailler sur un plateau de tournage exige davantage que des compétences techniques. Il faut avoir de la patience, une bonne capacité d'adaptation, de la persévérance, de la créativité et être capable de travailler en équipe. Comprendre le protocole de plateau peut vous aider à vous sentir plus en confiance tout en vous donnant les connaissances dont vous avez besoin. Si vous comprenez bien ce qui se passe autour de vous, vous pourrez vous concentrer sur la tâche à accomplir – faire un film. Ce document dresse un portrait général du protocole de plateau dans l'ensemble du Canada.

Sensibilisation à la sécurité sur un plateau de tournage
2009
Ce document porte sur les dangers les plus courants dans l'industrie du cinéma ainsi que sur les droits et les responsabilités des employées et employés, des chefs d'équipe et des employeurs. Il se veut une introduction à la sécurité sur le plateau et à la santé au travail pour ceux et celles qui s'intéressent à la production cinématographique et télévisuelle dans votre province.

Convergence des médias
2008
Son modèle de formation unique rassemble les discours linéaires et non linéaires du cinéma et de la télévision, ainsi que des nouveaux médias, et oriente l'élaboration de projets de convergence en préconisant les travaux pratiques réalisés en équipe. Les 18 séances du cours proposent des notions d'élaboration d'un modèle d'affaires, d'exploration des diverses approches de financement, et d'établissement d'un échéancier. Ce document est créé pour les associations professionnelles, les éducateurs et les formateurs pour qu'ils puissent faciliter et encourager la formation sur les projets de convergence partout au Canada.

Musique et enregistrement sonore

Gestion des droits 101
2012
Ces ressources de formation sont pour les formateurs qui désirent offrir des ateliers ou des cours sur la gestion des droits dans l'industrie de la musique. La trousse peut également servir aux artistes qui veulent mieux comprendre les complexités de la gestion des droits. La connaissance de la gestion des droits est essentielle pour toute personne qui travaille aujourd'hui dans l'industrie de la musique.

La clé de l'avenir: Guide marketing de la musique dans la nouvelle économie
2009
Suite à l'évolution de la technologie et de la mondialisation, l'industrie de la musique est perpétuellement en mouvement. Un de nos plus grands défis est de savoir comment utiliser les nouvelles méthodes et ressources à notre disposition afin d'atteindre nos audiences. La clé du succès est d'apprendre à tirer parti des débouchés potentiels qu'offre les nouvelles technologies pour commercialiser à l'échelle mondiale.

Ce document de cours offre des renseignements, des conseils et des recommandations sondés dans une série d'unités attrayantes, dont : le marketing ; les éléments de base du marketing ; connaître le consommateur ; le plan de marketing ; déjà vu, mais efficace ; ce n'est pas la vieille Oldsmobile de papa ; je connais bien et je m'en sers encore ; une nouvelle génération ; et rattraper le reste du monde.

Arts visuels et métiers d'art

The Art of Managing Your Career – Course Modules
2009
Les "Course Modules", disponibles en anglais seulement, ont été développé pour les enseignantes et les enseignants aux niveaux collégiale et universitaire et pour les associations professionnelles. Ce document, conçu pour les artistes dans toutes les disciplines, inclut 16 modules donnant aux artistes la confiance et les connaissances nécessaires pour gérer leur carrière dans le secteur culturel.

L'Art de marketing à l'exportation
L'objectif de ce site Web est de fournir des renseignements aux artistes pour leur aider à comprendre et à gérer des questions liées au marketing à l'exportation de biens et de services culturels. Initialement crée en 2002, le matériel fut mis à jour en 2009 afin de mieux refléter l'environnement culturel international.

Création littéraire et édition

Ressources pour l'édition de magazines (2012)
Vous aimeriez offrir votre magazine en ligne, mais ne savez par où commencer ? Profitez d'une nouvelle série de ressources, présentées par des professionnels de l'industrie et adaptées à l'industrie québécoise du magazine. Nos ressources offrent un éclairage précieux sur la numérisation des fonctions de rédaction, de publicité, de production et de diffusion dans l’industrie du magazine, dans l'optique du lancement d'une version en ligne de votre magazine.

Commercialisation de livres dans le monde virtuel
2008
Ce contenu de cours a été créé à l'intention du personnel dans le domaine de l'édition de livres. Le document comprend six modules écrits par différentes personnes qui travaillent dans le monde de l'édition de livres. On y retrouve les chapitres suivants : Développement d'un plan de commercialisation en ligne pour la vente de livres ; La connaissance de votre marché ; Des sites Web dynamiques ; La compréhension des réseaux sociaux et d'autres applications Web 2.0 ; La construction et le maintien d'un public en ligne ; et La gestion de droits.