Youth Internship Program

YOUNG CANADA WORKS – Building Careers in Heritage
FOR CAREERS IN ARTS ADMINISTRATION/CULTURAL MANAGEMENT AND ARTS PRACTICE

Internships for recent graduates (in Canada)

The deadline for application has been postponed to February 8, 2017

CHRC is seeking cultural sector employers in organisations and companies to host internships for recent graduates (up to 30 years old, inclusively) to help them acquire practical experience, to enhance their employability /access to freelance work and to explore career options in arts administration/cultural management and arts practices.

  • Duration of internships: 16 to 52 weeks
  • Minimum of 30 hours per week
  • Maximum request: $10,000 – average contribution $ 6,750
  • CHRC’s contribution (from 25 to 50% of the cost of the internship) must be applied to the intern’s wages, excluding Mandatory Employment-related Costs

To create an account and submit an application, it is recommended that you review the EMPLOYER USER EXPERIENCE GUIDE: YOUNG CANADA WORKS. We have highlighted, in yellow, the steps to guide you towards the Cultural Human Resources Council (CHRC) as your delivery organisation.

young-canada-works.canada.ca/Account/Login

Please send me your questions in writing at ldaoust@culturalhrc.ca.


 

BECOMING A YIP EMPLOYER

Are you looking for people who might bring new ideas, skills and enthusiasm into your organisation? Do you have a great project idea and someone to lead it, but you lack the capacity to make it happen? You might consider establishing an internship that would match your organisation's needs with a younger person who is interested in a career in the cultural sector. Read more

 

BECOMING A YIP INTERN

Do you have a passion for a particular art discipline, but you are having difficulty finding a cultural sector job where you can use your skills and express your interest? Are you interested in working in the cultural sector, and have formal education and other experience that you would like to apply in the cultural sector? Your best way into the sector might be through an internship.

The Youth Internship Program (YIP) offered by the Cultural Human Resources Council, in partnership with the Department of Canadian Heritage (Young Canada Works – Building Careers in Heritage) has helped match arts and cultural organisations and aspiring cultural workers for eight years. By supporting 4 to 12 months internships, the YIP provides opportunities for hiring emerging cultural workers, and for young people to obtain experience and develop new skills.

Since the program started, more than 400 organisations and 700 interns have been involved. And around 90% of interns went on to find employment either with the host organisation, elsewhere in the sector, or as self-employed cultural workers. Read more

 

Examples of internships that have been offered in the past:

Organisation Internship
PuSh International Performing Arts Festival Society Festival Administrator
Canada Dance Festival Project Coordinator
Société d'histoire du lac St-Jean Historian/Museologist
Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra Education Coordinator
Atlantic Film Festival Industry Marketing Coordinator
Canadian Cultural Society of the Deaf ASL/English Interpreter
First Vancouver Theatre Space Society Design and Web Coordinator
Compagnie Marie Chouinard Archivist
Aboriginal Experiences Tour and Outreach Coordinator
Zuppa Circus Theatre Actor

Programme Jeunes stagiaires

JEUNESSE CANADA AU TRAVAIL – Carrière vouée au Patrimoine
POUR UNE CARRIÈRE EN ADMINISTRATION DES ARTS, EN GESTION CULTURELLE OU EN PRATIQUES ARTISTIQUES

« Stages au Canada pour diplômés récents »

La date limite est repoussée au 8 février 2017

Le CRHSC est à la recherche d’employeurs dans des organismes et des entreprises du secteur culturel intéressés à offrir des stages à des diplômés récents (âgés jusqu’à 30 ans inclusivement) pour les aider à acquérir une expérience pratique, à accroître leurs possibilités d'emploi et de travail en sous-traitance et à explorer des possibilités de carrière dans l'administration des arts , la gestion culturelle et les pratiques artistiques.

  • Durée des stages: de 16 à 52 semaines
  • Minimum de 30 heures par semaine
  • Demande maximale: 10 000 $ - contribution moyenne: 6 750 $
  • N.B. La contribution du CRHSC (couvrant de 25 à 50 p. cent du coût du stage) s’applique au salaire du stagiaire et non aux charges sociales obligatoires de l’employeur

Pour créer un compte et faire une demande, nous vous recommandons de lire le GUIDE DE L’UTILISATEUR A L’INTENTION DES EMPLOYEURS : JEUNESSE CANADA AU TRAVAIL. Nous avons surligné en jaune les étapes vous guidant vers le Conseil des ressources humaines du secteur culturel (CRHSC) à titre d’organisme de prestation.

jeunesse-canada-travail.canada.ca/Account/Login

S.v.p. faire parvenir vos questions par courriel à ldaoust@crhsculturel.ca.

 


 

DEVENIR UN EMPLOYEUR DU PJS

Cherchez-vous des gens pouvant apporter de nouvelles idées, compétences et de l'enthousiasme à votre organisation? Avez-vous une bonne idée pour un projet et quelqu'un pour s'en charger, mais être dépourvu des moyens pour l'exécuter? Vous devriez peut-être considérer établir un programme de stage qui relierait les besoins de votre organisation et les compétences d'un ou d'une jeune employé(e) intéressé(e) dans une carrière dans le secteur culturel. Voir plus

 

DEVENIR UN OU UNE STAGIAIRE DU PJS

Avez-vous une passion pour une certaine discipline artistique, mais avez de la difficulté à trouver un emploi dans le secteur culturel où vous pouvez appliquer vos compétences et démontrer vos intérêts? Êtes-vous intéressé à travailler dans le secteur culturel afin de transmettre votre éducation formelle ou d'autres expériences au secteur culturel? Votre meilleure approche est peut-être un stage.

Le Programme Jeunes stagiaires (PJS) offert par le CRHSC, en partenariat avec Patrimoine Canada (Jeunesse Canada au travail - Carrière vouée au patrimoine), aide, depuis plusieurs années, à jumeler des organismes en arts et culture et des jeunes cherchant de l'emploi dans le secteur culturel. En offrant un stage payé de 4 à 12 mois, le PJS offre aux employeurs une occasion d'engager des jeunes et de leur offrir de l'expérience et des outils afin de développer leurs connaissances.

Depuis le début du programme, plus de 400 organisations et 700 stagiaires furent impliqués. Outre, à la suite du stage plus de 90% des stagiaires furent employés au sein de l'organisation hôte, au sein d'une autre organisation dans le secteur culturel ou il sont devenus des travailleurs automnomes. Voir plus

 

Voici quelques exemples de stages que nous avons subventionés :

Organisme Stage
PuSh International Performing Arts Festival Society Festival Administrator
Canada Dance Festival Project Coordinator
Société d'histoire du lac St-Jean Historian/Museologist
Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra Education Coordinator
Atlantic Film Festival Industry Marketing Coordinator
Canadian Cultural Society of the Deaf ASL/English Interpreter
First Vancouver Theatre Space Society Design and Web Coordinator
Compagnie Marie Chouinard Archivist
Aboriginal Experiences Tour and Outreach Coordinator
Zuppa Circus Theatre Actor